LAKESHORE RECORDS TO RELEASE “BOJACK HORSEMAN” (MUSIC FROM THE NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES)Lakeshore Records will release BoJack Horseman (Music From the Netflix Original Series) digitally September 8th, on CD September 29th and vinyl coming this winter. The soundtrack features the iconic main title track by Patrick Carney, and the infectious closing theme by Grouplove. Michelle Branch, Oberhofer, Nina Simone and original songs and score by Jesse Novak are also featured. The album was produced and music supervised by Andy Gowan.

Set in a Los Angeles in which humans and anthropomorphic animal-people coexist, BoJack Horseman is the Critics’ Choice Award-Winning animated show about one man (who is also a horse) who peaked early and is trying to figure out what to do with his life now. An outrageous and dark comedy with a melancholy center, the show asks the question, “What happens when you have the world at your fingertips and you still can’t figure out how to be happy?”

Says Carney: “The themes of BoJack — happiness and depression, the search for success and overcoming failures have also been themes I’ve been drawn to in my music.  I am thrilled that my song featuring my Uncle Ralph’s haunting saxophone gets to set the mood for every episode of BoJack Horseman.”

The award-winning “underwater” episode, “Fish Out of Water” is showcased on the entire “Side B” with indie pop band Oberhofer’s “Sea of Dreams” and original score and composition from Jesse Novak.

Series composer Jesse Novak, who, in addition to BoJack Horseman, is also currently composing the score for The Mindy Project.  Prior to his work as a television composer, he has contributed as a player and engineer to recordings by artists like MIA and Vampire Weekend and released music under the name Tugboat.

Says Executive Producer Noel Bright: “Jesse is equally comfortable punching a funny scene with a silly note and scoring a sad scene with a heartbreaking melody.  His music elevates every moment of each episode.”

Says Novak: “Writing the music for this show is fun for so many reasons.  Making animation feel real and emotionally resonant, hitting the right tone to parody certain genres and pop-cultural aspects of music, and using timing to enhance a gag are just a few of the challenges that I love.  It’s also tremendously entertaining for me to work on a show that pokes fun at show business.”

Track List:
01. BoJack’s Theme (feat. Ralph Carney) – Patrick Carney
02. Horsin’ Around Theme – Jesse Novak
03. A Horse With No Name (feat. Michelle Branch) – Patrick Carney
04. Mr. Peanutbutter’s House Theme – Jesse Novak
05. I Will Always Think Of You – Jane Krakowski and Colman Domingo
06. Get Dat Fetus Kill Dat Fetus (feat. Daniele Gaither & Manus Dunbar) – Jesse Novak
07. Kyle and The Kids (feat. Carrick Moore Gerety) – Jesse Novak
08. Stars (Live at Montreux) – Nina Simone
09. Back In The 90’s – Grouplove
10. BoJack’s Theme (Full Length) [feat. Ralph Carney] – Patrick Carney
11. Seaport – Jesse Novak
12. Hallway – Jesse Novak
13. Kelsey Apology – Jesse Novak
14. Chasing Kelsey – Jesse Novak
15. Seahorse Birth – Jesse Novak
16. Post Birth – Jesse Novak
17. Baby Seahorse and Convenience Store – Jesse Novak
18. Shark Chase – Jesse Novak
19. Darkness and Tunnel – Jesse Novak
20. Fan Section – Jesse Novak
21. Factory – Jesse Novak
22. Flying – Jesse Novak
23. Seahorse Reunion – Jesse Novak
24. Final Kelsey Pursuit – Jesse Novak
25. Sea of Dreams – Oberhofer

For more information visit: